divorce · reflective

Footloose and Fancy Free

After a long, long road, my spouse of 21 years and I are divorced.  While the marriage was over quite a while ago, it is now official in the eyes of the law.  How odd it feels to go from married to unmarried with the stroke of a judge’s pen.  This will take some getting used to – it is so not the path that I envisioned when, as a little girl, I pictured my wedding and the years that followed as blissful happy times.  As I walked down the aisle, I’m glad I couldn’t see what the future held in store for us.

Now when I think about the man I married, I cannot recapture any of that feeling of love and optimism that I must have had as I planned the beginning of the rest of my life.  It is even hard for me to imagine that a forever love really exists although I do see it with some of my friends and much of my family.  I hope the cynicism does fade – I think it will as I learn to be happy again.

Leave a Reply

