divorce · kids · reflective

Quiet Moments

I’m laying in bed and thinking about the week ahead.  The kids are in Wisconsin with their Daddy – they will be gone for the next 8 days or so.  I don’t always like to admit it, but this is as much a vacation for me as it is for anybody!  I’m really enjoying the silence of the house (if you count 5 snoring dogs silence!) and the knowledge that no one will ask me to do anything for the rest of the night, the rest of the weekend – heck, the rest of the week!  I’ve been getting more and more irritable lately and I don’t like it.  I just got through a divorce, I’ve still got financial issues, the house is a total wreck and I don’t get any time for myself.  I’ve always been a bit of a loner – I could go for days without talking to anyone and be fine with it.  But now, there seems to always be someone demanding something of me, even on the days that I am scheduled to be alone (in regards to custody).  It has seriously affected my mood.

But now, I am about to take charge of my own needs.  Instead of trusting that others will recognize that I have needs and getting more and more frustrated that these needs are being ignored, I am going to voice those needs and require that my needs get equal priority.  I’m glad to have this week to gather my thoughts and get started with a little me time!!!  I think I will start by ordering that bed that I want – I’ll be buying it to replace the bed that broke a few weeks ago. This is a link to the bed I’m thinking about – I just have to decide if I’m willing to pay the price……

One thought on “Quiet Moments

Leave a Reply

