reflective

taxes

They say nothing is certain except for death and taxes and today I’m facing the reality that taxes MUST be turned in by midnight tonight.  Back in April, when I filed an extension, October seemed a million years away.  I was still married, still on console at work and still optimistic that the extension was only for a few weeks while I got my crap together.

I planned on taking my information to a CPA that I used last year but again, time got away from me and I didn’t have time to pull together my W-2’s and sundry other information.  So here I am, at the last-minute, pulling together all the information required to be a responsible member of the United States of America.  It is a bit horrifying to me after printing out my W-2 to see exactly how much I have already paid in federal and state taxes.  If I take the high road, I will realize that the fact that I’ve paid so much in taxes means that I had a fairly good job but even so, I am a bit aghast to see the number.  Especially when I look at the government and see the waste and baloney that goes into running a bureaucracy such as ours.

Ah well – enough of a break – back to holding the nose to the grindstone as I try to eek out one more deduction to help with my tax bill…….

Leave a Reply

