Uncategorized

Food Poisoning

No matter what has happened in my life, I never wished to be out of this world.  You know the drill – life is precious and all that!!  But now, I just went through my second bout of food poisoning since April.  As I curled up on the floor in front of the toilet, with knife like pains in my stomach and cold sweat running off of my entire body until it looked like I had taken a shower, I had second thoughts.

These two events are not the only times this has happened – there have also been three other times that I got hold of some nasty bad food.  But of course a person’s mind has a way of softening the edges until you start to doubt it could have possibly been as bad as you remember.  No more!!  Food poisoning is about as bad as it gets and I’ll never doubt my memory again…..at least not on this subject.

The ‘event’ in April was my fault really.  Tornadoes had just ravaged our area, the power had been off for 5 days and I didn’t clear out the freezer as well as I thought.  There was just one tiny little carton of Rum Raisin Ice Cream that I must have missed.  I am not a big fan of ice cream but when I have heartburn, it is a quick respite.  And Rum Raisin? – awesome!!  But somehow it had been overlooked in the big cleaning and I paid the price for careless housekeeping.  But yesterday?  I still don’t know what caused it.  I’m afraid to eat anything for fear of eating the offending food.  Plus my stomach isn’t quite back to the point of keeping food where it belongs.

The other point is that both of these events happened in the wee hours of the morning.  All I had were my dogs lying around me trying to take some of my pain.  And hoping for a dog treat but I like to think that this was way down on their list of priorities!!

I hope to never, never, ever go through this again.  I’m almost willing to swear off food altogether!  It is a fate worse than death and infinitely more painful than most other things in life that I’ve experienced.  Maybe I should just stick to safe processed foods……….

Leave a Reply

