ironic · random thoughts · reflective · school · Uncategorized

Ironic thoughts

There are a lot of things in the world that are just plain ironic.  You know them when you see them, you know them when you hear them.  I happen to love irony.  Irony such as

  • “Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room.”
    (Peter Sellers as President Merkin Muffley in Dr. Strangelove, 1964)

or as you drive past a school, you see a billboard saying “Committed to Exsellense”.

My son had to write a sentence with the stem word “phobia”.  As we looked through the phobia’s to pick one I came across the following phobia:   hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia.  I had to laugh just at the length of the word so of course I wanted to see what  fear was associated with such a word.  And that is what got me thinking about irony.   Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia is the fear of long words.  Who came up with that?  And who can say it?!!!

I’ll keep an eye out for more ironic statements/words/situations – maybe I’ll not be so lazy and actually get it posted.  Good intentions and all that………..

Leave a Reply

