memories · pets · random thoughts · reflective

Random things I like…

I woke up this morning thinking how much I hate mornings – I’m not a morning person and never have been.  It has been worse lately and I’ve been diagnosed with delayed sleep phase syndrome which explains a lot.

Then I moved on to how much I hate being late and even though I got up earlier than usual, it looked like I would be late again.

My next thought was to wonder why I wake up thinking about the things I hate?  It starts the day off on the wrong foot and wouldn’t I rather think about the things I like?  So I decided to put together a random list of some of the things I like/love.  Nothing obvious like the kids – they are a given.  I love them with the deepness of the ocean.

I love, love, love staying in hotels.  We went to Nashville before Christmas to see the Ice exhibit and then to see the Rockettes.  As much as I enjoyed the shows, I think staying in the Embassy Suites was my favorite part of the mini-vacation.  I love the beds, I love the pillows, I love coming in to my room, I love getting things out of my suitcase…..you get the picture.  I always look forward to my next stay in a hotel.  When I travel with the kids, I almost always get a suite.  That way we both have our own TV and I love that.  Hotels are high on my list!!

I love the fact that I now play in a band.  Oh right, you say but I kid you not!  I won’t be getting any tattoo’s anytime soon – I’m playing in a small concert band that our middle school band director was awesome enough to put together for all the parents that used to be in band in high school.  I love the fact that I can now play my clarinet somewhere in a group of like-minded people.  I’m having more fun in that band than I’ve had doing almost anything else (except staying in hotels!) in a while.  Play on!

I love Sonic Ice.  That says enough right there.

I love animals; all animals.  Spiders, snakes, deer, raccoon; name it and I probably like it [except maybe mosquitoes and chiggers but honestly, I rarely get bitten by a mosquito.  If there is another warm-blooded mammal near me, they leave me alone].  Dogs and horses may be my favorites but that is something that I can’t say definitively.  I have dogs, cats and a guinea pig.  I can say I’ve never met a dog I didn’t like.  I have six dogs plus one.  No, no, no – that doesn’t make seven despite all the math you have under your belt!  The seventh dog belongs to the neighbor but when he hears my car, he hustles on over.  The dogs all have different personalities but they all come bounding toward me with excitement when I come home.  There is no doubt of their love for me.  Of course it makes it difficult to walk in the house because they all go where ever I go; I often say I’m so slow because it isn’t easy to coordinate movement with 30 legs!

I love to read, I love to travel, I love listening to books on tape. I love to take photos of the sky at sunrise and sunset, I love my parents (both sets of them since I was adopted!) even though 3 out of 4 have died. I love jewelry that sparkles.  In fact I’m very much like a crow – I like anything that sparkles and have trouble not picking it up!

I love owls because it reminds me of my Mom, I love the smell of cut wood because it reminds me of my Dad.  I love going to the tire department in a store because I love that smell.  And yes, I even love the smell of a skunk.

Now if I could only remember to wake up in the morning and think of the things I love rather than focusing on how much I hate the morning, my days would start off on a positive note. As was said by Flora Whittemore “The doors we open and close each day decide the lives we live.”  It is time for me to choose to begin my day by opening the door to happiness and love…….

Leave a Reply

