Uncategorized

Worth the money

There are some things in life that are just plain worth the money.  For me, a house cleaner would be high on the list but finding someone willing to work with a homeowner with 6 dogs has not proven to be an easy task!  I also take a portion of my laundry to a man who washes, irons and folds.  That to me, is luxury!

But I’m talking more about products.  Which products have proven to be worth the purchase price, or even better, worth even more than the purchase price?  The first product I would mention is Febreze Laundry Odor Eliminator.  It isn’t cheap – $8.80 or so here in the Huntsville, AL area but I can’t tell you how much money it has saved me, not to mention the clothes it has saved from the garbage pile.  With six dogs there are sometimes odors that a sensible person (ok, ok – who is the wise guy out there saying that a sensible person wouldn’t have six dogs in the first place?) wouldn’t go out in public to share.  It was a source of great frustration and I tried everything but some of those odors remained for my sensitive nose to absorb.   This was a major problem with blankets which seemed to always have a slightly sour scent as if they had been left wet or not completely dried.  Then came the miracle cure – Febreze Laundry Odor Eliminator.  It is hard to find around here but I do take the extra effort because it is worth whatever it takes.

Another product with which I’ve had tremendous good luck is (don’t laugh) Happy Jack Mange Medicine.  I had a German Shepard when I was much, much younger.  He was a sweet dog but then I noticed some hair loss around the eyes.  We thought it was from playing too hard with our other puppy but sadly it was the beginning of a horrendous battle with mange.  It spread from his eyes until his entire body was ravaged by the parasites.  I had taken him to vet after vet trying to find something to save him.  Finally, one vet told me that in his condition, there was little hope for a cure and that I should do the humane thing and put him down.  It sounds cruel but Sam (the dog) literally had no more hair, his skin had formed scabs but he had scratched most of them open.  He smelled like he was already dead.  I would wrap him in old sheets to keep him from scratching.  I tried everything…or so I thought!  One day, I went to a pharmacy where the pharmacist had heard all of my laments about my dog.  He was such a great guy – he saw the Happy Jack Mange Medicine and bought it for me and gave it to me for free.  I took it home, put it on my Sammy and repeated the treatment later the same day.  The next day, I felt like he was doing better but I knew it might be my imagination.  But by the third day, it was obvious he was healing.  Within a week, he had tufts of hair coming back in.  He was a new dog.  I feel like I had barely pulled him out of the grave.  I’ve had many loyal dogs in my life but this guy was special.  He protected me, stayed at my side and was loyal beyond anything I’ve ever experienced since.  He was a good dog.

Steam cleaners – love them, love them, love them!!  There is nothing like seeing the grunge that they take care of when cleaning an area.  I am sold on steam cleaners! [What?  You can’t expect a long story for everything!!]

Band-Aid Advanced Healing band-aids.  These things stay on like white on rice.  Plus they heal injuries so much faster than other methods.  I only buy these band-aids even though they are much more expensive.  They are worth it!

That is it for now – I’ll have to look around the house to see what else I have that I would highly recommend.  Maybe I’ll look for things on which it isn’t worth wasting your time or money as well……….

 

 

Leave a Reply

