celebrations

Father’s Day

Today is Father’s Day and I want to say that my Dad was a great man.  This isn’t just a Daddy’s Girl opinion; most people who knew him speak highly of him.  I can honestly say that I never heard him badmouth anyone.  He was a loyal friend and inspired loyalty in others.  If I could be half as good a person as he was, I would be better than most of the rest of the world.  Words are so inadequate for me to express my emotions when talking about my Dad.  Even growing up, I knew that I was luckier than most.  Father’s Day is a bittersweet day for me, similar to Mother’s Day.  It is a time of remembering my Dad and wishing I could have another day with him.  I find myself talking to him on a daily basis – I tell him about every little thing that goes right and wrong in my day.  I share my insecurities, my accomplishments, my joys.  I have reason to believe that he is still present in my life.  Little things that show me that he is near and watching over me.  Little things that show me he hears me.  It is a reassuring feeling.

While I was lucky enough to grow up with my Dad, I am doubly lucky in that I found my biological Dad a few years ago.  I found him while Dad was still alive and he was totally accepting of the fact that my bio Dad was becoming a part of my life.  I am lucky to have met him and that he is happy to have me in his life as well.  He has been very gracious and generous and he makes us feel welcome any time we are able to visit.  I feel blessed to know him and to share his time.  I hope he is around for a long time to come.

So to my Dad and to Jess – Happy Father’s Day.  Thanks for being there whenever I seem to need you.  I hope you know how much I love you.

Leave a Reply

