home · snow · Uncategorized

Eggs, milk and bread

I am one of those people who love snow – I never get tired of it!  Fluffy white flakes coating the world with silence.  However, I’ll be the first to admit that, living in the south, one doesn’t get a chance to get tired of snow.  Typically, we will get snow one day and within a day or two, it is gone.  There have been a few exceptions in my lifetime but since it is a rarity, it hasn’t been enough to sour me on the excitement of snow.  Once we get snow in the forecast, it seems like a  delirium envelopes the city.  There is no middle ground – either people love the idea of snow and walk around in a state of anticipation and hope or people despise the idea of snow and walk around in a slight panic.  But it seems like almost everyone heads to the grocery store for eggs, milk and bread.  I don’t understand what it is about eggs, milk and bread that gives comfort but oftentimes all you see in the grocery store is depleted shelves for these items.  I’ll admit that I bought bread but really, I was out of bread :)!

Today was so beautiful – I woke up to a couple of inches of snow with a bright sun shining down.  This helped to rapidly clear the roads so we had the beauty of the snow without the hardship.  Awesome!  A little snow cream made the beauty of the day complete!  Now that it is 24 hours after the initial snowfall, the downside of snow remains.  There are puddles of mud here and there, a few tree limbs are down and there are patches of snow that haven’t yet melted.  By this time tomorrow, all of the snow will be gone.  But for me, there will still be the memory of the beauty of the snow and it will all be worth it…..

100_5087 100_5088 100_5089 100_5090 100_5091 100_5092 100_5093

2 thoughts on “Eggs, milk and bread

  1. Hi There, The snow in your pictures was beautiful. Like you I think snow is beautiful and wonderful. When I was a kid in Arkansas we usually only had snow a few times each year and I never tired of it. When Kate & I were in Germany we had snow most of the time in the winter months. Happy Valentines day. One of my favorite Valentines day stories is about this little boy (2nd or third grade) who wasn’t very popular in his class. He told his Mom if she would get him some Valentines cards he would pass them out to his classmates. She bought the cards and he meticulously prepared all the cards for his classmates. He went to school on Valentines day enthusiastically. When it came time for him to come home his Mom went out to welcome him home. She saw him coming down the street on his way home from school with his head hung low. As he walked past his Mom on the way into the house she heard him saying “Not a one, not a single one”. His Mom was heartbroken for him, she sat down with him and said “I’m sorry you didn’t get any cards”. He said “I wasn’t talking about not getting a single card, what I was talking about was I didn’t miss giving a card to any of my classmates, I didn’t miss a one, not a single one”. What a sweet boy. Anyway, happy Valentines day, hope it’s a wonderful day for you. All My Love, Jess

    Date: Fri, 14 Feb 2014 06:24:19 +0000 To: jessrlindsey@hotmail.com

  2. Hi There,

    The snow in your pictures was beautiful. Like you I think snow is beautiful and wonderful. When I was a kid in Arkansas we usually only had snow a few times each year and I never tired of it. When Kate & I were in Germany we had snow most of the time in the winter months.

    Happy Valentines day

    Date: Fri, 14 Feb 2014 06:24:19 +0000 To: jessrlindsey@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

