exercise · retirement

Exercise

I hesitated to mention this because I didn’t want to jinx myself, but I have started a workout regimen.  I actually started last Sunday.  I dropped Lucy off with some friends and wondered what to do while I waited for her to be ready to head back home.  I crossed off shopping right away; I don’t know when I’ll start getting my retirement checks and I want to make sure the money I have lasts until those checks start arriving.  Normally I would take a nap in the car but happily, retirement has left me far more rested than usual!  So I meandered over to the University of Alabama in Huntsville’s University Fitness Center.  I figured as a graduate of UAH with a daughter attending UAH, there should be some affordable category of membership for me to join!

So, I ended up with a day pass to give the Fitness Center a try.  It was great!  I worked out quite a bit longer than I had planned and I felt great when I left.   I did wonder if I was ready for a work out regimen when I first arrived.  The stair steppers and stationary bikes were on the 2nd floor of the facility.  Climbing the stairs to the second floor was almost my entire workout!  When climbing a flight of stairs saps your energy, you know you are overdue for a workout!  But I persevered, caught my breath and started my workout.  I felt so good when I left that I returned on the next day and the day after that!

I hope to make working out a regular part of my schedule.  I’m still trying to figure out the best time to get over there – it looks like it might be right after I drop Lucy off at school but I will try to stay flexible with regards to my schedule.  I’m happy to be back at the gym after too long away.  Let’s hear it for an attempt at better health for long-term retirement fun!……

Leave a Reply

