house project

Questionnaire

I have been looking at house plans for some time now.  All of them from the same incredible architect.  An architect that I have admired since the late 80’s.  If you are interested, you can see some of her work on her website, Sunplans.com.  She designs passive solar homes and I think this is the way of the future.

I have been reviewing her plan book, trying to narrow down the plans to a single plan to which I would be willing to commit.  I have found this process to be impossible.  I’ll like one thing in one plan, several things in another plan and I haven’t been able to trade-off features to narrow down my selection.  Plus her homes are dependent upon compass direction;  in order to make the homes passive solar, she takes advantage of and makes accommodations for the sun.  Luckily she provides a service in which she helps a person select a plan.  And if there isn’t a plan that will work, she will help select a plan to modify.  And if that doesn’t work, she will design a plan from scratch.

I am in the ‘select a plan’ phase of the process.  It isn’t easy helping a person select a plan but the architect has the process down to an art.  She, of course, knows her plans backward and forward.  So her goal is to get to know me and my needs as well as she knows her plans.  She sent a questionnaire that was about 17 pages long.  I spent many long hours filling out this questionnaire, dreaming of my perfect home.  The questionnaire was very comprehensive.  Size, look, atmosphere of a room…..as far as I could tell, she thought of everything.  It was hard for me to turn in the questionnaire; I felt like I wasn’t complete enough, that I wasn’t getting my ideas across.  But I am committed to this project and even though it is a baby step, I knew getting the questionnaire submitted in a timely manner was an important baby step.

So for now, the questionnaire is in the architect’s hands.  She will need some time to digest all that I have written but I don’t think it will be a long process.  In the meantime, there is a plethora of little tasks that I will need to complete to prepare the site for building.    And the first of those little tasks is actually settling on a location.  I have two locations that I am considering; an ideal location and a less expensive location.  I’m strongly leaning towards selecting the ideal location despite the higher cost.  After all, I plan on living here for the rest of my life.  A higher location cost will pay off in the long run if I’ll be happier with the location.  Now that I’ve started working on finding a plan, I’m chomping at the bit to be in a new house.  I hope I keep that feeling and can translate it into momentum as I continue my grand project…….

Leave a Reply

