memories · random thoughts · reflective

Father’s Day 2017

Father’s Day.  There are a couple of days in the year that bring a myriad of emotions and Father’s Day is one of them.  My Dad was one of the great ones.  It is nice when you can look back at your childhood and say with absolute confidence that your Dad was special.  We had a pretty traditional household.  My Dad worked and my Mom kept the house running.  Dinner was on the table at 5:00 every night with a meat, some type of potato and two vegetables.  We were never very demonstrative but we were close.  I’ve often said that one could feel the love and respect in the house.  I have so many good memories that bring a smile to my face no matter what circumstance I’m in.  He was a gentle guy and I literally never heard him say a harsh word about anyone.  I believe his faith was so strong that he felt God would sort things out however they needed to be sorted at the appropriate time.  My Dad died in July 2008 but he continues to help me when I’m feeling down or overwhelmed.  I miss him every single day.  He had a way of making me feel worthy and that feeling is hard to recreate on my own.

But I’m lucky.  First in the fact that I was close to my Dad and respected by him.  Second in the fact that, being adopted, I have been able to meet and and get to know my biological Dad.  About 10 years ago, circumstances came together enabling me to find my birth parents.  I have been able to get to know my birth Dad through emails and visits and I know how lucky I am to have this opportunity.  I have enjoyed getting to know him and am honored that he has welcomed me into his life with open arms.  I only wish he lived closer so that we could get together more often.  He is generous and loving and I hope we have many more years to share our lives together.

So, I do feel a myriad of emotions on this special day for father’s.  I only hope that my father knew how much I loved and respected him throughout his life.  Along with that, I hope that my birth father knows how special he is to me and how glad I am that he now shares in my life.  I feel a warm glow when I think about how lucky I have been and how lucky I continue to be as I wish a Happy Father’s Day to the men that mean so much to me……….

Leave a Reply

