friendship · happenings · random thoughts · reflective

Upcoming Pool Party

After worrying and wondering about what to do about my perceived loss of friendship with the best friends I have had since high school, I received a fortuitous text from a third friend today. She is planning a pool party on Monday due to the extreme heat we have been having. I am excited about being able to gauge whether or not I am just being paranoid about the status of our friendship.

On the other hand, I hate the way I feel. This is the first text I have seen in a month and a half from the two friends I used to do everything with and it wasn’t directed to me; it was replying to the pool party text. They both responded immediately that they would be attending and while I definitely wanted to go, I wasn’t sure I would be welcomed by them (even though I realize they aren’t throwing the party!). I was anxious about texting my RSVP to the group in case So I wrote a separate message to the thrower of the pool party asking what I could bring and didn’t respond the the group text.

This whole thing just seems so high school to me. But even in high school I wasn’t as anxious as I am now. And this has a lot to do with how important these two ladies had become to me over the last two years. So I’ll write more after the pool party to let you know if my imagination has just taken a wild ride about everything…….

Leave a comment